Film Friday | Weekly Roundup

It’s been a little quiet here at PCF headquarters this week, mostly because Pretty Clever Film Gal has been as busy as Buster in The General. But things are about to heat up for silent film fans in Toronto. Ladles and Gentlespoons, we’re only a bit more than a week and some change from the launch of the Toronto Silent Film Festival, or as I like to call it, Christmas in March. That’s right on March 29, a mere 13 sleeps from now, we’ll be watching a startlingly young Joan Crawford doing a shimmy in Our Dancing Daughters! Oh and that is just the start! Stayed tuned to PCF all next week for wee previews of the fantastic program. And in the meantime, check out the awesomeness that they interwebs coughed up this week! Happy reading and happy viewing!

  • To celebrate the Blu-ray release of Plan 9 From Outer Space, 366 Weird Movies testifies on  “The Gospel According to Edward D. Wood Jr.!”
  • On the Road trailers are popping up everywhere, and each time I see it, I die a little bit.
  • I had an Odessa steps moments involving a pair of roller blades, a step hill, and a baby carriage once, so The Battleship Potemkin holds a special place in my heart beyond the obvious.
  • Toronto Film Scene has a looksee at Hitchcock’s 10,000 hours. For the record, I think Hitch also logged 10K hours of pie eating.
  • What did Flick Chick learn from miss Arab Death, Theda Bara? It’s not what you think.
  • Gun Crazy is and always will be one of the most bad ass movies ever made.
  • I’ve had the occasion to dip a toe into the wonderful and weird world of animation this week, and thanks to recommendations from Mike Valiquette at Canadian Animation Resources, I discovered the amazing animation of one Nick Cross. Check it out!
About prettycleverfilmgal

Social media consultant, blogger for hire, and lover of classic movies and silent films. I often watch, consider, and write about movies when I should really be doing other things.

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Re: Joseph Cotten, his stupid face and The Third Man — if it helps any, he plays what is essentially a stupid man, one step behind all the way; the focal point of the story but not really the hero. Great movie.

    I can’t see On the Road as a movie — or maybe I just don’t want to. I think reducing the fevered prose of the novel to voice overs and faithful pictorial representations of the book’s events will render it banal — the same way every version (so far) of The Great Gatsby has neutered one of the greatest novels of the 20th century. I’m thinking the best way to re-experience On the Road would be as a book-on-tape while driving a car across country, taking the back roads rather than the interstates, getting into that driving groove you can only get into when you’re covering 800 miles a day. It’s better than meditation.

    • I have tried, God love a duck, to watch The Third Man. I want to see it, and love it as much as the rest of the universe does, but… I just can’t stand Joseph Cotten’s stupid face, even when he’s playing a character with a stupid face. I can handle the Cotten in minor, supporting roles but too much screen time, and I’m out. And yes, I realize it’s odd to have such strong feelings either way about Joseph Cotten.

      On the Road is a book that means a great deal to me, and to think it’s going to get some ham-fisted flick treatment pains my heart. And that chick from the vampire movies, really? I prefer your proposed method of imbibing On the Road, as well as straight through re-read, perhaps with a little wine wine spo dee-o-dee for company.

  1. Pingback: Film Friday | Weekly Roundup « Pretty Clever Films

  2. Pingback: Film Friday | Weekly Roundup | | Pretty Clever Films Pretty Clever Films - Silent Films & Classic Movies Discussed

Leave a Reply

