An Award for Little Old Me? 7X7 Link Award

First I would like to thank the awesome Shadows and Satin who bestowed this honor (on February 19 and I missed it!), and of course, I want to thank the Academy, and everyone who believed in me even though it flew in the face of all reason… (music swells) AND I must thank Classic Movie Puppy, my little Norma Desmond, who inspires me everyday with her (mic goes dead).

Okay, I’m being a tad silly. But really, thank you for including my humble little blog Shadows and Satin, and I’m game to play. Here’s the deal-i-o:

  • Tell everyone something that no one else knows about;
  • Link to one of my posts that I personally think best fits the following categories: Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece, and Most Pride-worthy Piece; and
  • Pass this award on to seven other bloggers.

So let’s get down to it!

Something no one knows about me

Hmm… I watch the most awful, terrible, trashy reality television. I love it. I love all of it from every flavor of “The Real Housewives of…”, to “Toddlers and Tiaras”, to “The Bachelor”, to “Top Chef”. If someone is prostituting whatever meager talents they have in hopes of winning a modest cash prize or a fleeting second of fame, I’m there. Don’t judge me!

Most Beautiful Piece

This is tough, cause beauty’s in the eye of the beholder, in’it. But I would have to say, my piece dedicated to Buster Keaton in October was my most personal and from the heart piece. It was tough to right, and I struggle for about 3 weeks to articulate a little piece about what Buster means to me.

Buster Keaton is the 99%

Most Popular Piece

So that’s easy cause WordPress answers for me. Hands down, far and away, my most popular piece is a list post of silent horror movies.

Pretty Clever Films Top 10 Silent Horror Movies

Most Controversial Piece

What? Me, stir up controversy? Never! Or never on purpose. It’s not a post on the blog, but a rather innocent status update on Facebook. I noted that Modern Times was released on February 5, 1936 with a cute little photo of Charlie caught in a cog. First, a firestorm of controversy erupted about whether it was February 5 or February 25 ( I stick by 5, btw). Then the allegations of plagiarism that has dogged this film forever were hurled.

The FB post has been bumped to top along with the comments.

Most Surprisingly Successful Piece

A surprisingly successful piece wasn’t really a piece at all, but a little news bit. When TCM was airing a batch of Lon Chaney films, I posted a little heads up with the schedule. Weirdly, it still gets a lot of traffic, because I keep picturing people seeing it in search results and getting excited, only to realize the Chaney movies are long gone. Suffice it to say, people love Lon Chaney and I should really write about him more.

16 Lon Chaney Movies on TCM

Most Underrated Piece

I suspect that I’ve probably forgotten what my most underrated piece was cause it was that underrated. I think deep down, I expected Charlie Chaplin’s head made of matchsticks to generate a little bit of interest.

Matchstick Charlie

Most Pride-Worthy Piece

I am totally proud of myself for ripping Mister Roberts a new one. Really. It was in poor taste, people. It’s rare that I write about movies I don’t like, cause, duh, why would I take the time to watch and write about something I don’t like? Watching Mister Roberts was really the result of channel changing laziness, but I took great delight in spewing some rare vitriol.

Mister Roberts

7 Other Kick Ass Blogs

These are all amazing blogs, ones that I read everyday, and penned by amazing peeps who have so much to say and say it smartly. Check them out and tell them Pretty Clever Film Gal says hello! And there are about a million other blogs to mention, some of which already have a little 7X7 action going on (I’m looking at you Mythical Monkey) but the rule is 7, so here goes:

All of which reminds me… Pretty Clever Films is about to turn 1 year old. My blog birthday is May 11. What should we do to celebrate?

About prettycleverfilmgal

Social media consultant, blogger for hire, and lover of classic movies and silent films. I often watch, consider, and write about movies when I should really be doing other things.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. have to think about how you can celebrate an anniversary of one year. A year end report of hits and misses would be appreciated by your fans for sure.

  1. Pingback: A 7×7 Link Award for me…Thanks Meg! « Marcia Clarke–La Chica Writes

Leave a Reply

